Do Umiak Ever React This Way Or Is It Unusual?

Discussion regarding the Outsider webcomic, science, technology and science fiction.

Moderator: Outsider Moderators

Bamax

Do Umiak Ever React This Way Or Is It Unusual?

Post by Bamax »

I remember Stillstorm said how the Umiak kept coming down to the last (implying she wiped them out) but the Stray actually fled the scene.

Does that mean it is rare for Umiak in battle to flee the battle?

So in a scenario were a Umiak commander sees his entire fleet get ripped to shreds save his own vessel, is it likely he will react like Caleb here and call for a general retreat, or is he more likely to just get his ship blown up in a futile attack?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=z8WsygwTiLU

I reckon the Loroi have enough sense to act like Caleb here... the Umiak? I am not so sure.

Demarquis

Re: Do Umiak Ever React This Way Or Is It Unusual?

Post by Demarquis »

Well, obviously I'm no expert on Umiak combat doctrine, but my sense is that each individual attack isn't expected to stand on it's own. The idea is to wear down the Loroi in a war of attrition, so sacrificing yourself is acceptable, so long as su/tdsu < su/tdsl, where su="sacrificed unit", tdsu = "Total deployed strength of Umiak forces" and tdsl = "Total deployed strength of Loroi forces".

That Loroi ship is more important to them than your ship is to your own side, so self-sacrifice it is.

Bamax

Post by Bamax »

Demarquis wrote:
Wed Jul 26, 2023 2:28 am
Well, obviously I'm no expert on Umiak combat doctrine, but my sense is that each individual attack isn't expected to stand on it's own. The idea is to wear down the Loroi in a war of attrition, so sacrificing yourself is acceptable, so long as su/tdsu < su/tdsl, where su="sacrificed unit", tdsu = "Total deployed strength of Umiak forces" and tdsl = "Total deployed strength of Loroi forces".

That Loroi ship is more important to them than your ship is to your own side, so self-sacrifice it is.